Regions in Ghana

Ghana is made up of 16 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Ghana. Information on all primary administrative regions in Ghana.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Ghana alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Ghana

There are 16 regions in Ghana in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Ghana
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Ahafo Ahafo1.600,000Goaso Goaso-
Ashanti Ashanti Region2.4,105,402Kumasi Kumasi1,468,609
Bono Bono3.1,082,520Sunyani Sunyani70,299
Bono East Bono East4.1,034,421Techiman Techiman69,720
Central Central Region5.1,717,543Cape Coast Cape Coast143,015
Eastern Eastern Region6.2,633,154Koforidua Koforidua96,266
Greater Accra Greater Accra Region7.5,455,692Accra Accra1,963,264
North East North East8.590,000Nalerigu Nalerigu-
Northern Northern Region9.2,003,152Tamale Tamale360,579
Oti Oti10.742,664Dambai Dambai-
Savannah Savannah11.653,266Damongo Damongo-
Upper East Upper East Region12.948,118Bolgatanga Bolgatanga54,430
Upper West Upper West Region13.868,479Wa Wa78,107
Volta Volta Region14.1,738,710Ho Ho69,998
Western Western Region15.2,376,021Sekondi-Takoradi Sekondi-Takoradi138,872
Western North Western North16.928,309Sefwi Wiawso Sefwi Wiawso-