This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Ghana

Ghana is made up of 10 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Ghana. Information on all primary administrative regions in Ghana.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Ghana alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Ghana

There are 10 regions in Ghana in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Ghana
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Ashanti Ashanti Region1.4,105,402Kumasi Kumasi1,468,609
Greater Accra Greater Accra Region2.3,460,792Accra Accra1,963,264
Eastern Eastern Region3.2,633,154Koforidua Koforidua96,266
Western Western Region4.2,376,021Sekondi-Takoradi Sekondi-Takoradi138,872
Northern Northern Region5.2,003,152Tamale Tamale360,579
Brong-Ahafo Brong-Ahafo Region6.1,973,199Sunyani Sunyani70,299
Volta Volta Region7.1,738,710Ho Ho69,998
Central Central Region8.1,717,543Cape Coast Cape Coast143,015
Upper East Upper East Region9.948,118Bolgatanga Bolgatanga54,430
Upper West Upper West Region10.610,452Wa Wa78,107