This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Ghana

Ghana is made up of 10 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Ghana. Information on all primary administrative regions in Ghana.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Ghana alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Ghana

There are 10 regions in Ghana in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Ghana
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Greater Accra Greater Accra Region1.3,460,792Accra Accra1,963,264
Upper East Upper East Region2.948,118Bolgatanga Bolgatanga54,430
Central Central Region3.1,717,543Cape Coast Cape Coast143,015
Volta Volta Region4.1,738,710Ho Ho69,998
Eastern Eastern Region5.2,633,154Koforidua Koforidua96,266
Ashanti Ashanti Region6.4,105,402Kumasi Kumasi1,468,609
Western Western Region7.2,376,021Sekondi-Takoradi Sekondi-Takoradi138,872
Brong-Ahafo Brong-Ahafo Region8.1,973,199Sunyani Sunyani70,299
Northern Northern Region9.2,003,152Tamale Tamale360,579
Upper West Upper West Region10.610,452Wa Wa78,107