This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Ghana

Ghana is made up of 10 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Ghana. Information on all primary administrative regions in Ghana.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Ghana alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Ghana

There are 10 regions in Ghana in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Ghana
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Greater Accra Greater Accra Region1.3,460,792Accra Accra1,963,264
Ashanti Ashanti Region2.4,105,402Kumasi Kumasi1,468,609
Northern Northern Region3.2,003,152Tamale Tamale360,579
Central Central Region4.1,717,543Cape Coast Cape Coast143,015
Western Western Region5.2,376,021Sekondi-Takoradi Sekondi-Takoradi138,872
Eastern Eastern Region6.2,633,154Koforidua Koforidua96,266
Upper West Upper West Region7.610,452Wa Wa78,107
Brong-Ahafo Brong-Ahafo Region8.1,973,199Sunyani Sunyani70,299
Volta Volta Region9.1,738,710Ho Ho69,998
Upper East Upper East Region10.948,118Bolgatanga Bolgatanga54,430